I Reject All “Isms,” Including Feminism, Individualism, And Humanism

I believe in the human spirit.

Shoshana Kaufman

--

Photo by Ashley Batz on Unsplash

Humans have a tendency to see things outside of themselves as real and to see inner things as imaginary.

I’m the opposite. I unabashedly live in my own inner world. Maybe that makes me weird. Much like a Zen Buddhist, I see the sensory world, the world of things we can see, hear, feel, smell and taste, as a parade of illusions.

As Shakespeare called it, “this insubstantial pageant.”

“Isms” like feminism or existentialism or romanticism (I refuse to capitalize them) are projections of the inner world of humans onto the unknowable, unfathomable material world. Even individualism, an idea so sacred to so many people, is not really real.

Rights-based thinking is destructive.

Individual “rights” are not real either. That doesn’t mean you can trample over everyone else to get what you want. It just means that your “rights” are a projection of your ego, that part of yourself that tries to protect you from the harshness of reality.

Remember that human beings believe they have all kinds of rights, right up to and including the right to kill other people they don’t like.

--

--

Shoshana Kaufman

Mother, grandmother, teacher, wife, food lover, spiritual searcher.